# TRANSPORTATION POLICY BOARD

### **MEETING MINUTES**

Of July 21, 2023

**<u>Call to Order:</u>** TPB Chair Ricard Samaniego called the Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting to order at 9:04 a.m. at the Blue Flame Building, 17th Floor (Center for Community Engagement), 304 Texas Avenue, El Paso, TX 79901, and also conducted the meeting telephonically and by video conference. TPB Member attendance was as follows:

MEMBERS PRESENT	TITLES	MEMBERS ABSENT	TITLES
1. Oscar Leeser (Vice-Chair)	Mayor, City of El Paso	Joseph Cervantes	NM State Senator, District 31
2. Rudy Cruz	City of Socorro, District 3 Representative	Lina Ortega	TX State Representative – 77th District
3. Claudia Ordaz	TX State Representative – 76th District	Cesar Blanco	TX State Senator
4. Eddie Morales	TX State Representative – 74th District	Mary E. Gonzalez	TX State Representative – 75 <sup>th</sup> District
5. Chris Canales	City of El Paso Representative – District 8	Joe Moody	TX State Representative – 78th District
6. Norma Palacios	Assistant Public Works Director, El Paso County	Manuel Sanchez	County Commissioner, Doña Ana County
7. Walter Miller	Alderman 1, Town of Horizon City	Javier Perea	Mayor, Sunland Park, NM
8. Tomas Trevino	District Engineer, TXDOT El Paso District	Willie Madrid	NM State Representative District 53
9. Ramon Cano	Mayor, Town of Clint	Rachel Quintana	Mayor, Village of Vinton
10. Yvette Hernandez	City Engineer, COEP	Cassandra Hernandez	City of El Paso Representative – District 3
11. Iliana Holguin	El Paso County Commissioner, Precinct 3	MPO STAFF	
12. Sam Rodriguez	Director of Aviation, El Paso International Airport	Sergio Estrada	MPO/TPB Attorney
13. Ellen Smyth	Director, Mass Transit-Sun Metro	Eduardo Calvo	Executive Director
14. Isela Reyes	Mayor, City of San Elizario, TX	Harrison Plourde	Assistant Director
15. Isabel Salcido	City of El Paso Representative - District 5	Anne Guayante	Regional Transportation Manager
16. Anthony Turner	Mayor, Town of Anthony, TX	Claudia Valles	Transportation Planner
17. Cary Westin	City Manager, City of El Paso	Gabriela Lopez	Transportation Financial Analyst
18. Ricardo Samaniego (Chair)	Judge, El Paso County	Gerardo Fierro	Associate Regional Transportation Analyst
19. Diana Murillo	Mayor, Anthony, NM	Sonia Perez	Regional Transportation Planner
20. Aaron Chavarria	District Engineer, NMDOT	Salvador Gonzalez-Ayala	Transportation Research and Development Manager
21.		Marisol Enriquez	Administrative Secretary

(Meeting began with 19 members)

• No Public Comment: No member of the public signed up for Initial Public Comment

# **DISCUSSION AND ACTION:**

1. Consider approval of the minutes of the June 23, 2023 TPB meeting. **Presenter: TPB Chair** 

Motion to approve the minutes of the June 23, 2023, EPMPO TPB meeting made by Mayor Oscar Leeser and seconded by Alderman Walter Miller. Motion passed unanimously.

- Consider authorizing the Executive Director to sign and submit a Letter of Support for the Fiscal Year 2024 Unified Transportation Program (UTP) to the Texas Transportation Commission Presenter: Eduardo Calvo (MPO Executive Director)
  - Tomas Trevino commented
  - Oscar Leeser commented
  - Chris Canales commented

Motion to authorize the Executive Director to sign and submit a Letter of Support for the Fiscal Year 2024 Unified Transportation Program (UTP) to the Texas Transportation Commission made by Alderman Walter Miller and seconded by Sam Rodriguez. Chris Canales Opposed.

3. Consider authorizing the Executive Director to submit a grant application on behalf of the El Paso MPO to the FY23 MEGA program for the Downtown10 project

Presenter: Eduardo Calvo (MPO Executive Director)

- Yvette Hernandez commented
- Tomas Trevino commented

Motion to authorize the Executive Director to submit a grant application on behalf of the El Paso MPO to the FY23 MEGA program for the Downtown10 project made by Alderman Walter Miller and seconded by Representative Claudia Ordaz. Chris Canales opposed.

 Consider authorizing the Executive Director to submit a letter to the General Services Administration (GSA) regarding the Bridge of the Americas Enhanced Feasibility Study.
Presenter: Eduardo Calvo (MPO Executive Director)

• Ricardo Samaniego commented

- Chris Canales commented
- Iliana Holguin commented
- Ellen Smyth commented

Motion to authorize the Executive Director to submit a letter to the General Services Administration (GSA) regarding the Bridge of the Americas Enhanced Feasibility Study made by Mayor Oscar Leeser and seconded by Alderman Walter Miller. Motion passed unanimously.

 Consider authorizing the Executive Director to sign a Letter of Support for El Paso Chamber Foundation FY 2023 Community Connectors Program grant application
Presenter: Omar Martinez (COEP)

Motion to authorize the Executive Director to sign a Letter of Support for El Paso Chamber Foundation FY 2023 Community Connectors Program grant application made by Mayor Oscar Leeser and seconded by Commissioner Iliana Holguin. Motion passed unanimously.

Consider approval of amendments to the Regional Mobility Strategy (RMS) 2050 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP) and RMS 2023-2026 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) to program the CBD IV Phase 2 project using Category 7 STP-MM and Category 3 Local Contribution funds in FY 2024\*
Presenter: Joaguin Rodriguez (COEP)

#### Motion to Delete Item 6 made by Alderman Walter Miller and seconded by Cary Westin. Motion passed unanimously.

# . REPORTS AND DISCUSSION:

- 7. New Mexico Coordinated Public Transit Human Services Transportation Plan Presenter: Gabrielle Chavez (NMDOT)
  - Ellen Smyth commented
  - Eduardo Calvo commented
- 8. Sean Haggerty Dr Extension administrative amendment update

### Presenter: Anne Guayante (MPO)

- 9. RMS 2020 Project Status Report Presenter: Gabriela Lopez (MPO)
- 10. Executive Director's Report
  - a. TxDOT Safety Task Force and TTC meetings
  - b. TxDOT I-10 Corridor Study Binational Stakeholder Group meeting

Presenter: Eduardo Calvo, Executive Director (MPO)

- The **next meeting** of the TPB is scheduled for <u>9:00 a.m.</u> on <u>August 18, 2023</u>, at the at Blue Flame Building, Floor 17 (Center for Community Engagement), 304 Texas Ave, El Paso, TX 79901
- 11. Adjournment. Adjournment at 10:20 a.m.

Approved as to content:

Marisol Enriquez, Recording Secretary of the Transportation Policy Board for the El Paso MPO Study Area